Today’s journalism more erroneous?

The most surprising thing I’ve learned about journalism through my internships: The student-ran daily publication I worked at in college is more efficient than a lot of real-life newspapers.

 What do I mean by efficient? Well, in college, when I submitted a piece as a reporter, my work was fact checked and grammatically corrected by three people: a copy editor, the chief copy editor and finally the editor-in-chief. If I ever had a question concerning the flow of a piece or an angle of a story, I could talk with one of my coworkers and we could work together to get things right.

 At the two major publications I’ve worked at, when I submit a story, one person corrects it: my editor. That’s it. And, usually he/she goes through it only once. Why is this the case? Money is probably the most significant issue. At one point, both publications had a full copy editing staff; changes in the industry have disallowed that convenience now.

 I guess also since reporters at the large publications are professional journalists, their work wouldn’t require as much editing as college journalism students. But, regardless of how talented of a writer you are, you will make mistakes, especially when you’re on a deadline. It worries me even more about the current state of journalism. I wonder: If you were to compare a newspaper from now compared to one 15 years ago, would there be a noticeable difference in errors in print?    

About reedjackso2

A 22-year-old journalist who enjoys reporting on the various crimes, concerts and characters that make his hometown of Portland so unique.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today’s journalism more erroneous?

  1. pdxsx says:

    Great post, Reed. Very insightful and good advice for young journos.

    Well written as per usual.

    ~J

Leave a Reply

